The presentation of the EU Green Deal by the President of the European Commission von der Leyen gave us great hope for the climate and our ecosystems.

However, the financial resources mentioned so far are very far from reaching the ambitions and needs of the EU environmental policies of this decade.

Faced with the failure that an under-funded Green Deal would represent, what Europe nor the world can afford, we, climatologists, young climate activists, representatives of NGOs and trade unions as well as ministers and members of parliaments from 5 different political families decided to launch a call for a real Green Deal with a budget commensurate with its ambition and the situation.


Adélaïde Charlier, Youth for Climate Belgium,

Anuna de Wever Van Der Heyden, Youth for Climate Belgium,

Mathis Fidaire, Youth for Climate France,

Nathan Méténier, Youth and Environment Europe,

Elijah McKenzie-Jackson, Youth for Climate England,

Hugo Viel, General Secretary of CliMates,

Jean-Pascal van Ypersele, Climatologist, former IPCC Vice-Chair, Professor at UCLouvain,

Jean Jouzel, Climatologist, (Académie des sciences, Paris), former Vice-Chair of the IPCC Working Group 1,

Hervé le Treut, Climatologist, (Ecole Polytechnique, Paris), former Director IPSL,

Olivier de Schutter (UCLouvain), Former UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food,

Wendel Trio, Director, Climate Action Network Europe,

Laura Sullivan, Executive Director, WeMove Europe,

Céline Charveriat, Political scientist,

Karl Falkenberg, Former Director General Environment, European Commission,

Rudy De Leeuw, former President ETUC (European Trade Union Confederation),

Bernard Bayot, Director, Financité and President, NewB, Belgium,

Jean-Luc Crucke, Minister of finances and budget, Wallonia, Belgium (MR, Renew Europe),

Denis McShane, former Minister for European Affairs, UK (Labour, S&D),

Sirpa Pietikäinen, Member of the European Parliament, Economy Committee, Finland (K.K. , EPP)

Delara Burkhardt, Member of the European Parliament, Environment Committee, Germany (SPD, S&D),

Marie Toussaint, Member of the European Parliament, Industry Committee, France (Europe Ecologie, Greens),

Benoit Lutgen, Member of the European Parliament, Transport Committee, former Minister for Environment, Wallonia, Belgium (cdH, EPP),

Sándor Rónai, Member of the European Parliament, Environment Committee, Hungary (D.K., S&D),

David Cormand, Member of the European Parliament, Budget Committee, France (Europe Ecologie, Greens),

Rasmus Andresen, Member of the European Parliament, Budget Committee, Germany (Die Grünen, Greens),

Pierre Larrouturou, Member of the European Parliament, Budget Committee, France (Nouvelle Donne, S&D).

If you have any questions regarding the call, please contact Lucas Globensky and Timothée Galvaire at